This annual award is given to the Alabama Legislator who has demonstrated exceptional and consistent support of specific economic development legislation and worked to continue to foster a positive business climate for Alabama.

Legislator of the year 

Past Winners:

Senator Garlan Gudger – 2023

Representative Danny Garrett – 2023

Senator Phil Williams – 2018

Senator Del Marsh – 2017

Representative Mac McCutcheon -2016

Senator Alan Baker – 2015

Senator J.T. “Jabo” Waggoner – 2014

Senator Arthur Orr – 2013

Representative Alan Harper – 2012

Representative Barry Mask – 2011

Speaker of the House Seth Hammett – 2010

Representative Terry Spicer – 2009

Representative John Knight – 2008

Senator Roger Bedford – 2007


This award is given to the economic developer that demonstrates the highest ideals of professionalism and character within the economic development profession. This award is given in honor of David R. Echols who served as a senior project manager for the Alabama Department Office. David set the professional standard for economic development in this state and his legacy continues through this award.

Past Recipients:

Lori Huguley, City of Opelika – 2023

Ted vonCannon, Jefferson County Economic Industrial Development Authority – 2022

Peggy Smith, Strategic Planning Coordinator, Cullman Chamber of Commerce – 2021

David Hutchison, Executive Director, Butler County Commission for Economic Development – 2020

Valerie Gray, Executive Director, Chambers County Development Authority

Jeremy Nails, President & CEO, Morgan County Economic Development Authority – 2018

David Knight, Director – Walker County Economic and Industrial Development Authority – 2017

Forrest Wright, President – Shoals Economic Development Authority – 2016

Dus Rogers, President & CEO of the Jackson County EDA – 2015

Jimmy Durham, Executive Director – DeKalb County Economic Development Authority – 2014

Ellen McNair, Senior Vice President of the Montgomery Area chamber of Commerce – 2013

Phillip Dunlap, Economic Development Director- City of Auburn – 2012

Mike McCain, Executive Director of the Gadsden-Etowah County Industrial Development Authority – 2011

Greg Barker, Senior Vice President, Marketing and Economic Development for the Alabama Power Company – 2010